The infrastructure curves like a system of nerves

*** SOLD OUT ***

Being 11 in 1980, the first records I bought were by artists like The Human League, Depeche Mode, Jean Michel Jarre, Kraftwerk, Ultravox, Gary Numan and John Foxx. Electronic music was my first love. I like to think I was the only 11 year old who owned Fad Gadget records, and by the time I was a teenager I owned the entire Kraftwerk back catalogue, and even a few D.A.F. imports. My son is 13 now and owns no records at all. He doesn’t know what he’s missing.

Anyway, an album which made a deep impression on me at the time was John Foxx’s ‘Metamatic’. Recorded in 1979 after he left Ultravox and released in the spring of 1980, it stood and still stands alone as a monochrome electronic masterpiece. I’ve long wanted to make music in that vein, but never had the gear or the ability to do it. And then a man called David Ansara approached me to say he’d done a cover of one of my songs he’d heard online. It transpired he was a vintage analogue synthesizer geek, so I asked him “Could we do something which sounds like Metamatic … ?” and the answer was “Yes”. And here are some of the results. We’ve got an album’s worth of material written and recorded, but for now, here’s a 3-track EP.

Echoes In Rows: Click Click Drone’

01  Zone Zone
02  Shoot Me Like A Scene
03  Brian Aldiss

It should be out on 25th Feb on limited numbered CD (80 copies), the first 19 of which come with a download code for a bonus track. I’m thinking of putting it on Bandcamp too, but I still have a bit of a mental block when it comes to downloads. Cost is £4, plus postage to your location (UK £1, Europe £1.50,Rest of world £2.00).

PayPal to adamleonard@hotmail.com please, or email if you don’t have PayPal and we’ll sort something out.

Here’s a little preview video wot I dun (sorry, I’ve been listening to too much Slade recently).

Leave a Reply

